Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the Online Debate Network.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
    ODN Community Regular

Post Thanks / Like

Global warming...?

I have studied this a little bit in the past few months, mainly because I find it to be a hugely interesting area of science. It's something that I've always been skeptical on, mainly because I was raised conservative; but I started looking into it. I went to a seminar on global warming at my school, I watched "An Inconvenient Truth," and I studied some of the theories on Carbon emissions.

But, as I studied further, I noticed there was a dangerous trend in the amount of evidence I saw compiled to support such a theory; when you attempt to talk to people about the issue, I noticed how polarized and adamant they were. I listen to one person call another person a moron for believing that it did not exist, and visa versa. This became a red flag for me; another red flag was the fact that I had only seen a few graphs cited as evidence, and the rest of their arguments happened to be how all the polar bears were all dying, the monstrosity of the situation --40 feet in Britain, all of Florida will become consumed, New York will disappear-- and I really started to get revolted. Science is never about shock value and fear factor (Otherwise defined as appeals to emotion); it is about calm, rational discussion and debate amongst a gathering of peers.