Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the Online Debate Network.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Debate Snobs

Post Thanks / Like

Debate Snobs

I am new to ODN and certainly have zero authority to question the methods here. Yet as an interested debator I have valid concerns over the course debates sometimes take. Much too often I see a very interesting topic get bogged down in technicalities instead of content. Proofs, fallacies, and supported claims are the foundation of healthy valuable debate. But when the bulk of a thread descends into technicalities it equally kills the value of the debate.

I joined ODN to find a venue more suitable than Facebook to have meaningful conversations about meaningful topics. Facebook most often gets into flaming, trolls, and ignorance with little opportunity for useful discussion. I thought this was a safe haven for the intellectual, but I have begun to find it a place where the same things happen just with intellectual words and methods.

I propose that ODN is (should be) a place of healthy discourse and debate which sometimes requires proof and data, but at times may also require conjecture and speculation. In the instances of conjecture slinging fallacies, and accusations of unsupported claims, often fails to be useful.

Am I Wrong? Have I come to the wrong place?
    All men SHOULD have equal opportunity to live their life to the fullest. Be as happy, productive, carefree, and content as possible. The trouble is we are NOT created equal.

ODN's Crotchety Old Man

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Debate Snobs

Quote Originally Posted by Mehkael View Post