Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the Online Debate Network.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    ODN Community Regular

Post Thanks / Like

Student Loan Debt: Who is to Blame?

Some background so you know where I am coming from:

1. I am a college graduate who was fortunate enough to not require much in loans. I worked a lot in high school and made great money working in warehouse labor. My parents assisted me with a good portion of tuition and the loans I did need to take were incredibly minimal. I haven't had any student loan debt since the day I graduated college. I had minimal experience with the Financial Aid system.

2. I work in Financial Aid at a for profit college which will remain nameless for contractual and professional reasons. I've worked in civilian and currently work in military financial aid. You got a question, I can answer it. I now have plenty of experience with FA and consider myself an expert.

3. My opinions of the system changed greatly when I started this job, and of course I am bias.

There is the background, now to the meat.

There is no question student loan debt is a serious issue in our country, I don't want to hear examples of what we could do, what other countries do, etc. I'd like to narrow our focus to a few issues that I plan on trying to open up as we move on. So I'd like to sort of ask/answer in sections/questions.

1. Generally speaking, what do you think the problem with the student loan system is, and who is the blame? Even if you were like me and have no idea whatsoever please feel free to answer.
    Witty puns...

Administrator

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Student Loan Debt: Who is to Blame?